Self: Shoot 6 Plan & Outcomes

In order to meet my project proposal, and therefore my brief, I will be producing an outcome that portrays a variety of my successful experiments. In order to do this successfully, I will be using the technique of multiple flash exposure, replicating myself and any alternative props or models in one image multiple times.

how-to-multiple-flash-exposures-2795-717x420.jpg

My biggest inspiration remains to be Brendon Burton, with his concept of a photographic diary, however my most successful experimental shoots have been those incorporating flour, mirrors and dogs. The photographers who have inspired me for each of these shoots are Kyle Thompson, Laura Williams and Abby Malone.

My camera of choice for this shoot will be my Nikon D7100, accompanied by my 18-55mm lens. A tripod will be used to stabilise the camera, maintaining a level and still background when creating the outcomes. Further props include flour and a mirror, as well as an alternate model (dog). Editing software, including Photoshop, will be required during the post production process.

I will be shooting in a studio environment on a black background, using soft boxes as my light source. In order to maintain control over my lighting as required in multiple flash exposure photography, the lights will be flashed manually.

For this shoot I will require assistants, including one of my peers who can manually flash the lights and press the shutter release on my camera, and the owner of my secondary model (dog) to avoid incorporating him into parts of the shoot that he is not required for, as well as catering to his needs (water, short breaks/walks etc.).


 

Outcomes

This shoot was my second attempt at multiple flash exposure, and a first using multiple props and models. This proved difficult, as in the dark it was difficult to predict the composition of the final outcome.

DSC_5279a.jpg

My concept of combining these techniques was to be an effective representation of my concept, portraying themes from social media that suggested confusion and disarray, as well as the comfort of an animal. However, the execution of these photographs was poor, as none of my concepts were clearly represented.

DSC_5281a.jpg

I went on to use Photoshop in the post-production process to crop my outcomes, since my backdrop had not been adequately sized for the space consuming shoot, as well as creating a stronger contrast in an attempt to draw out the details within the photographs.

DSC_5282a.jpg

Due to the darkness in the studio, each outcome varied completely, with little structure to their composure. However, one commonality of all of my three outcomes was that the dog is not definable, and has little impact on my outcomes. However, the mirror frame proved to be a strong aspect to my images, and is clear and sharp in each photograph.

DSC_5279ab.jpg

My outcomes were typically more powerful in colour, however the tonal differences in the black and white outcome which I produced in Photoshop allows my models to blend into their areas of the photograph, creating a more harmonious piece. Due to this, the above outcome is my most successful outcome from this shoot.

DSC_5282ab.jpg

I would not consider this to be a successful shoot, as my technique of multiple flash exposure photography was not well executed to clearly portray my experiments. However, the messy outcomes have a strong relevance to my confused concept of mental health, which allows the pieces to play towards my theme when appropriately conceived.

Leave a Reply

