Lorena Cosba

Due to my interest in working with suspension for my final outcomes, I decided to look into the effects of a variety of materials, such as threads, and their impact when presented within my piece. I decided to focus a piece of research on Lorena Cosba, since she regularly incorporates red thread into her photography pieces, often attached to printed photographs.

Genealogical trees.

Interestingly, the thread really draws attention to the photos. In this scenario, where they may be detracted from with the accessory of a human body, the bold red thread draws the audience up the walls to the printed images. This however leads me to the summary that I may need to create experiments to discover if my own pieces will recreate this response, as my installations are the focal point and therefore the thread may impose on the impact of my work.


 

Almohadas en las que oir el mar.

Alternative work by Lorena Cosba includes overlaying and time lapse. This is of interest to me due to the work with transparency, which is relative to the materials I will be working within my installation (acetate). Cosba’s overlays show a variation in saturation levels – whilst one is very bright in colour, the alternative is almost greyscale. Although in this piece I feel the vibrancy of colours is attractive, I maintain that my final piece should be at least primarily black and white, as the overwhelming array of colours may cause disruption within each installation.

Nagasaki.


 

Lorena Cosba Inspired Experiment

DH1316.JPG

For this experiment I decided to incorporate the use of thread into a photograph, by using stitches that followed a significant shape. Within this image there is a golden tone, which is the only real colour aside from black and grey hues. Therefore, I selected this colour for my thread, tying the stitches into the photograph itself rather than selecting an obtrusive colour in the way Cosba frequently does.

The fine golden thread is almost lost within the piece when looked at as an overall photograph. Despite this, when looked at closely the stitches add a subtle, pleasant texture to the outcome. This allows an interesting effect in the form of an installation, as the thread may appear almost invisible from a distance, yet portray a soft, intricate detail when viewed up close. Since an installation piece is intended to draw an audience to look closely, I feel that this experiment was a success and conclude that thread is an appropriate binding material for suspension purposes, as it can appear both subtle and bold, with various colours offering a wide range of effects. This is illustrated both within my experiment and Cosba’s pieces.

Leave a Reply

